Mon 04 May 2009
Senior Service Awards for Band Members

Buxton Contest on Sunday 3rd May saw a milestone for the Vernon Building Society Poynton Band – 10 of its members received long service to brass bands awards totalling over 300 years! 

Dave Johnson, the band co-chairman said, “It’s a great achievement for our band to have so many committed players. It shows that the movement is still alive and well in the North West”

The awards come on the back of a creditable 2nd place in the contest where the band played Herbert Howells “Pageantry”. The band is now looking forward to a successful Summer Concert season and working towards its next contest at the Wychavon Festival of Brass.

Recipients of Long Service Award:

Allan Nutton Contest Secretary 25 years
Sarah Johnson
Flugel 26 years
Sarah Dawson
Solo Euphonium 28 years
Dave Johnson
Principal Percussion 29 years
Jenny McDermott
1st Horn 30 years
Gary White
2nd Baritone 33 years
Andy Lawton
1st Baritone 33 years
Paul McDermott
Cornet with Poynton Concert Brass 34 years
Tony Wyatt
Principal Cornet 40 years
John Anderson
Solo Trombone 46 years


Mon 04 May 2009
Good result at the Buxton Brass Band Festival

Championship/First Section:
Adjudicator: Kevin Wadsworth

1. Enderby (Jonathan Mott)
2. Vernon Building Society Poynton Band (Kevin Gibbs)
3. Phoenix West Midlands Brass (David Maplestone)
?. Newstead Brass (Duncan Beckley)
?. Bedworth (Guy Bennett)
?. Harrogate (Roy Waite)
?. Hopkins Blidworth Welfare (Kevin Steward)

Many thanks to Matt Fearn (from Timperley) for helping out on front row.
The band also won best 1st section band and the NWABBA 1st section prize.


Thu 23 Apr 2009
7 Year Itch...

After 7 years on the back row, Ian Moffett (2nd cornet) is leaving the band due to home commitments.

Recently speaking to Pete Cookson, Ian said "Rather than letting the band down it's better I step down... ...with the band after 100% commitment, I can't guarantee that I can make rehearsals what with two kids under three, then having to work for myself in the evening. It's all too much so something had to give". Pete was understanding of this having three girls himself. "I'll be back, just maybe in a year or two"


Mon 02 Mar 2009
1st Section Regional Results

Not a good result for us and a surprising result for others.

Empress Ballroom
Adjudicator: Colin Hardy

1. Wardle Anderson Brass (Sean Conway), 5
2. Blackburn & Drawen (Nick Sheppard), 12
3. Ashton-Under-Lyne (Martyn Evans), 11
4. Manx Concert Brass (Ian Clague MBE), 3
5. Longridge (Steve Tarry), 8
6. Bollington Brass (Peter Christian), 4
7. Vernon Building Society Poynton (Kevin Gibbs), 9
8. Tyldesley (Robert Taylor), 6
9. Freckleton ( Paul Dalton), 10
10. Mossley (Duncan Byers), 7
11. Haydock (Mark Quinn), 1
12. Blackpool Brass (Andrew Warriner), 2


Fri 23 Jan 2009
New Faces & New Places

A few changes in the line up at the start of the year. Our 2nd Horn Player, Callum Mullins, is off studying Law at Cambridge and is replaced by Jillian Hazlewood. Returning from Maternity leave, Jill left her seat on Rep and has now taken up playing the Horn. Ian Moffett returns on 2nd Cornet after a 4 month sabbatical and finally new Solo Cornet player, Adrian Horn joins us from Sale Brass Band.


Sun 18 Jan 2009

Test Piece: Hostile Skies (Richard Grantham)
Adjudicators: Section A: Frank Renton & Paul Norley
Adjudicators: Section B: Denis Wilby & Philip Harper

The top three bands from each section (26 bands in total) challenged for the title in a play off. All four adjudicators were in the box together for the play off.

Play off results
1. Blackburn & Darwen (Nick Sheppard)
2. Cornerstone Brass (Gavin Lamplough)
3. Vernon Building Society Poynton (Kevin Gibbs)
4. Hebden Bridge (Dennis Hadfield)
5. Foresters Brass 2000 (Mike Fowles)
6. Stocksbridge (Miles Davison)


Sat 20 Dec 2008
Christmas Concert

A fun filled fantastic Christmas Concert was held at the Civic Hall in Poynton last Sunday with the room full of local dignitaries such as:- The Right Honourable Sir Nicholas Winterton MP; Lady Ann Winterton MP; Mr Mike Hanson, Chief Executive of the Vernon Building Society; Councillor Thelma Jackson, Mayor of Macclesfield; Councillor Dave Robbie, Poynton Parish Council & Councillor Alift Harewood of Macclesfield West.

Second half costume themes included Vikings, Sound of Music and Star Wars (pictured) amongst others. 

The band would like to wish everyone a Happy Christmas and a peaceful New Year. See you in 2009!


Mon 01 Dec 2008
Latest Arrival

New baby, Daisy Jemma Hazlewood was born at 3.58 am on the 24th November 2008. She came in 5lbs 12oz and was home the same day.

Congratulations to Rep player Jillian and David with best wishes from the band!


Mon 27 Oct 2008
Pontin's Brass Band Championships

25-26 October 2008, Prestatyn Sands, North Wales

Section 1
Saturday 25 October
Test-piece: 'Sinfonietta – The Wayfarer' by Eric Ball
Adjudicators: Malcolm Brownbill and Colin Hardy


1. Ashton-under-Lyne, M. Evans, 19
2. St. Dennis, B. Minear, 5
3. Chalford Band, S. Tubb, 8
4. Skelmanthorpe, J. Roberts, 6
5. Vernon Building Society Poynton, K. Gibbs, 20
6. Hebden Bridge, D. Hadfield, 1
7. Blackburn & Darwen, N. Sheppard, 10
8. Friary Guildford Brass, C. King, 12
9. Jackfield, Elcock Reisen, J. Maines, 14
10. Lochgelly Band, P. Drury, 8
11. Drighlington, K. Belcher, 15
12. Wakefield Metropolitan, N. Law, 2
13. Brackley & District, D. Richards, 9
14. Langley, C. Parker, 3
15. Tyldesley Band, R. Taylor, 4
16. Ibstock Brick Brass, K. Ferguson, 17
17. Barnsley Building Society, R. Gray, 13
18. Bedworth Brass, S. Tighe, 16

Glossop Old, J. Davies, w
Mid-Rhondda Band, C. Hogg, w


Wed 24 Sep 2008

Good luck to Ed Bell (2nd Cornet) who has now left the band to continue his studies. What a way to leave coming 2nd at the recent Entertainment contest. Good luck Ed with your studies.





First - Previous - Next - Last
Latest Tweets